Atlanta’s airport was peckish last evening

August 30, 2007

I arrived in Atlanta yesterday afternoon safe and sound following somewhere near to 30 hours of travel. Better yet, I still had all my luggage which I claimed then passed through customs with both of my checked bags…. Unfortunately, Atlanta does things a bit strangely, and all checked luggage then had to be handed them back to the airport for a final screening and delivery to baggage claim. Yeah, they lost one of my two suitcases in the airport.

So there you have it- I traveled from S. Africa to London Heathrow, shuttled to London Gatwick and from there flew to Atlanta with all bags accounted for only to have one of two pieces of checked luggage go missing in the one mile from the arrivals terminal and customs area to baggage claim. There was nothing terribly valuable or irreplaceable but it’s extremely frustrating to have all your bags in hand then have them lost so very perfunctorily. GAH!

Once a live body was exhumed from the back rooms of British Airways ticketing area, which was unmanned for the better part of an hour I was able to actually file a claim and provide information for the bag to follow me to the Hyatt Regency once they finish trying on my bras and panties in the underground catacombs of the Atlanta International airport. Just a warning to those who fly BA- their customer service SUCKS!

Let me explain. No, that will take too long… let me sum up-

  • Inaccurate information provided over the phone-
    • Refrigeration of drugs (even for 30 hours of travel) is at the “discretion” of the flight staff, even if you assured that refrigeration can be provided.
      • Apparenty the flight attendants have it on good authority that no drug “requires” refrigeration for fllights less than 12 hours
      • They also fail to comprehend that 3+9+6+10+1 > 12…. and are somehow qualified to determine if my drugs are temperature sensitive…. All delivered with an snotty “I know better, you pesky American” attitude.
    • They will only handle lost baggage claim at the airport (ticket counter) or online. . . even if someone tells you that they can initiate a claim over the phone

Once you get a live, warm non-flight attendant body in front of you they are perfectly useful and helpful. Unfortunately they seem to hide such folk in back corners were only the ATF agents can get to them.

The better news is that Dragon*Con starts this evening, or at least check in starts at 4pm. So I must go and find myself 5 hours of entertainment before I sign in for a weekend that I’ve been very much looking forward to. More D*C news as it develops.

2 Responses to “Atlanta’s airport was peckish last evening”

  1. Heather Says:

    Wow… it takes talent for them to lose it IN the airport! Just to try to pass along some helpful information here, Global Bag Tag has a great deal on travel tags. Hope it helps for future travel needs!

  2. Aarson Says:

    So- how was you flight?

Leave a Reply

