Settled but not enchanted

August 6, 2007

This first week has been surpising rough. For the first two nights, I was staying in a flat owned by the son of the B&B owners with whom I was supposed to lodging, because they had overbooked the site.  I was given the company car that first evening with no map, and only a single trip to and from the work site. I managed to make it to the B&B, but got horrendously lost in trying to get to the other residence.

After and additional 2 days, and finally moving to the B&B where I’m likely to be for the remainder of my stay I’m told that I do need an international driver’s permit. With the help of the folks from work back in Phoenix, the paperwork is likely to be submitted today, and the permit might be heading back my direction sometime later this week. In the interim, I’m being driven to and from the work site by the kindness of various co-workers.

There’s no heating at the B&B other than an inefficient space heater so most nights I’m retchedly cold (nearly freezing) until I turn in and go to sleep. The days have at least been fairly pleasant with temperatures in the 60’s.

I’ve finally gotten internet access from work, but the chances of getting any connection from the B&B are less than then slim and the options that are available are likely to expensive at best an may not have the best functionality. In addition, a large number of sites are blocked from work, so I can’t update iTunes, or download directly from the associated websites.

The food situation is fairly depressing too…. There are at least 20 restauants within a five mile radius and they offer a range of choices including hambergers, steaks, ribs, pizza and italian, chinese and sushi, indian and to top it off there are both a McDonalds and a KFC. Some of these are very nice restaurants, but the selections offered are depressingly mundane.

Beyond all of that, the work environment is good and everything else is okay. I escaped from the B&B for a number of hours on Saturday, caught Transformers, and picked up a copy of HP7, so I could finish reading it… which I had before the end of Saturday. I’m very much looking forward to departing and returning to my regular life, there is much I miss, and what little connection I have to my digital world makes the separation all the worse.

Well, there is actual work to be accomplished, and I should probably get to work on it. I’m just hoping there aren’t too many more let downs in the next few days.

Leave a Reply

