Difficult decisions: HP #7 vs gaming night

July 20, 2007

Tis that time of the year, the newest Harry Potter novel is destined to hit bookshelves tonight at midnight. I’ve even reserved a copy of my own which will be available for me to retrieve from Borders at midnight…

So what trumps Harry Potter… Gaming Night!

I’m a roleplayer who’s been in withdrawal for 7 years. When I left Ithaca, NY I left all my gaming groups behind and have failed to find my way into any groups here in AZ. The lack of vehicular ownership had much to do with this. In the I’ve filled my time admirably with SCA and more recently podcasting , but once a gamer always a gamer and I desperately miss gaming.

Tonight I will fore go hanging out at Borders, awaiting the release of book 7 for the indescribable joy spent with friends, eating good food and playing games.  What’s on the table you ask: Robo Rally, Settlers of Catan, Gloom, some version of Munchkin, maybe some Chez Geek, and a variety of Cheap Ass Games.  It will be a magnificent night.

One Response to “Difficult decisions: HP #7 vs gaming night”

  1. Andrea and Hugh Says:

    We dont know who you are!! How can anything be more important than Harry Potter!!!!

    umm.. ok maybe I should confess that although I left home and picked up my copy of Deathly Hallows at midnight, and had a copy in my hand by 12:07. We had dinner guests that hung around drinking and chatting and didnt actually start reading it until almost 4 in the morning.

    I think it was good you got a good gaming geeking session done before your trip

Leave a Reply

