It’s Official- I’m leaving Phoenix

June 13, 2008

The employment offer, once it arrived, was in fact, quite reasonable, and I negotiated for some additional monies for relocation. My resignation is now on file with my current employer, and as of June 25th I will be without a job for the first time in roughly twelve years. I’ll have little time to truly enjoy it though- less than a week later I will be moving across the country. There will be a brief stop in Flagstaff to gather up someone, his dog and belongings, followed by a number of days on the road with a final destination of the Research Triangle Park area, in North Carolina.

I expect the next few weeks to be exhausting and extremely busy. Housing must be found and a brief trip for the final search is expected, a truck needs to be rented and loaded, and all the final tasks around home and work need to be wrapped up.

For those attending the FPM Fool Party on the final weekend of June, I will be present. I will not however, guarantee either sanity or cognizance as it is only a day or two at most before the move. Given the situation, I will bring food, but unfortunately, not of my own devising, as every bit of stuff, sans clothing, cats and essentials for the drive, will be already be packed. It will be the last chance, for quite some time, that many of my AZ podcasting colleagues will get to see me, and I hope they will turn out in force.

2 Responses to “It’s Official- I’m leaving Phoenix”


  1. congrats on the new job and the move! it’s so encouraging for me to read about people being successful in their job search. i’ve been on the market for 5 weeks now and it is so frustrating.
    read that you send the resume that finally got you the job in january…i guess i have to be patient.

    best of luck for the move!
    franzi

  2. Dani in NC Says:

    Well, you may be leaving your AZ podcasting friends, but you will be right up there with Mur and Christiana. Congrats on the new job!

Leave a Reply

